Skip navigation

Yesterday, I traveled to a big city (by my standards, anyway–good bookstore, good galleries, good food)–spent time looking at books, looking at art, and eating…

This morning, I acquired several paintings.

Untitled Painting #1, 10/17/15

Untitled Painting #1, 10/17/15

Untitled Painting #2, 10/17/15

Untitled Painting #2, 10/17/15

Untitled Painting #3, 10/17/15

Untitled Painting #3, 10/17/15

So, as a collector, did I make any mistakes?  Someone once said that the way to not make any mistakes as a collector is to look at a million paintings and you will never make a mistake.  I may be a few  paintings short of that mark, so maybe I missed.  But I think these three are worth at least every dollar I paid.  Maybe more.

2 Comments

    • Mary
    • Posted October 23, 2015 at 2:38 am
    • Permalink

    Buy what you like to look at and it will be an excellent choice and solid investment!

    • Marvin Falk
    • Posted October 23, 2015 at 9:46 pm
    • Permalink

    I spent some time perusing offerings in Santa Fe (reportedly only second to New York as a center of the art trade in the US) several years ago. I discovered that my meager art training was not up to the task of properly evaluating what I was looking at should I ever try my hand at collecting. I look forward to your thoughts as you get into the fascinating world of collecting a variety of media — I have always enjoyed you insights regarding the art of photography..


Leave a Reply

