Skip navigation

I’ve been working on my next blog post for two months now–can’t seem to find the end of it–

Cottonwood in fog, January 20, 2014

Cottonwood in fog, January 20, 2014

But today, I spent a few hours south of town, in the wheat fields, looking for pictures.  I shot 4 negatives with the 8×10, using a sturdy Gitzo tripod I bought several years ago from Barry McWayne, who is no longer among the living, and a Phillips camera on extended loan from Gary Pfaff, who is suffering from Parkinson’s, no longer able to set up a view camera.

The blog post I can’t seem to finish is about the death of my father, at 83.  Today, driving thr0ugh the farmlands, I thought of him, and Gary, and Barry, and the gifts of light and time.  I’m grateful to still be working, looking for pictures, making more.

January 20, 2014

Wheat field in sun, January 20, 2014

One Comment

    • Marvin Falk
    • Posted January 25, 2014 at 4:12 pm
    • Permalink

    The very last of my elders, my stepmother, passed at 92 two months ago. Just this week an acquaintance a couple of years older than I am retired from his business to move south after about 50 years in Fairbanks and somewhat in desperation left his collection of five bankers’ boxes of Kodachrome slides for me to digitize — when I have time. His own relatives have no real interest. He is willing to pay for the service, but . . . This brings to mind what you are doing. Sharing and commenting while there is still someone to communicate with. Keep posting.


Leave a Reply

