Skip navigation

November in Fairbanks always feels like a plunge into darkness–each day is seven minutes shorter than the day before–a loss of about an hour a week–and there are sometimes cold snaps–right now it’s twenty below at seven in the evening–might be thirty five below by morning–

 
But there is light in November–long, raking light cutting through the water vapor clouds from cars and buildings and especially laundromats–

 

Laundromat Steam, twenty below, Fairbanks, November 2012

I disconnected my darkroom sink today–had to go to Home Depot to get parts to restore the plumbing back to it’s previous condition–but every happy homeowner job I do seems to require three trips to the hardware store–and the light was finally perfect the last trip…

Alpine Glow at Home Depot, Fairbanks, November 25, 2012

You know, I might miss this place when I’m gone–but right now, I just want to get packed and on down the trail…  I used to joke about a bumper sticker I wanted to get printed–“Support global warming–it’s too damn cold here”–but the plan to head south seems much more immediate.

Leave a Reply

