Skip navigation

When I was a kid, Easter meant daffodils and tulips and egg-hunts in the green grass of the yard–but living in Fairbanks, Easter means the time the snow finally begins to melt, and puddles form…  And the ice on puddles is sometimes spectacular.

Ice and Sun, April 3, 2010

Ice and sun, April 3, 2010

Which looks cool, but here’s a detail from the center of the picture, just so you know I really suffered with the 8×10 to get this image:

Ice and Sun, April 3, 2010 (detail)

Ice and Sun, April 3, 2010 (detail)

Maybe Easter doesn’t mean what it once did to me, but it is a time to think about suffering and rebirth, and beauty and death.  I know that the surface of this puddle melted in the same sun that was illuminating it yesterday, and that if I go back today, it will be gone…  But a photograph can capture the miracle of the ephemeral…

And lest viewers get too carried away about the wonderful wilderness of Alaska and all of its natural beauty, I took a picture with my digital camera, pointed level–

Well Street, Fairbanks, April 3, 2010

Well Street, Fairbanks, April 3, 2010

The photos were all made in the middle of the railroad industrial area, not that far from the Well Street Art Gallery…  And perhaps even more surprising is the fact that I couldn’t really even see the picture with my naked eye–the glare from the sun was too intense to see anything–but when I set up the camera, I could see the image on the ground glass–something I’ve learned about working with big cameras–you can find pictures on the ground glass that you never see walking around…

Leave a Reply

