Skip navigation

In keeping up the spirit of the posts here, I usually try to find some reflection of the artist I admire in my own work.  Weston’s work is sculptural, his prints are full of volumes, shades rendered in order to create sensuous forms (though some have suggested that his peppers are sexier than his nudes…).   What I discover when I look at my own work is precisely the inverse problem–deliberately using a flat surface as a subject, to be rendered as a photographic print–with sometimes surprising results…

Bottle Pack, Tanana River, 1999

Bottle Pack, Tanana River, 1999

Tire, Tanana River, 2007

Tire, Tanana River, 2007

I can’t even say for sure why I think these pictures reference Weston, except I admire his acceptance of subjects and his commitment to finding form, which he described as the strongest way of seeing something…

Leave a Reply

