Skip navigation

In keeping with the spirit of the list of photographer’s that have influenced me, I’ve been thinking about Friedlander’s influence on my work.   It’s a bit of a tough call to point to any single photograph and call it an imitation Friedlander–his work is too diverse for simple copying.  It’s more in an attitude, a way of filling a frame, a way of telling the truth and a joke at the same time…

Thirty Below, College and Old Steese, February 2008

Thirty Below, College and Old Steese, February 2008

And here’s another image that I did and I know Friedlander would probably never do,  but if if I saw it with his name under it I wouldn’t be surprised, just trading licks, man, smashed, busted, and maybe beautiful…

Busted Birches, Fairbanks, 1992

Busted Birches, Fairbanks, 1992

Leave a Reply

