Skip navigation

I came to Alaska 22 years ago, to spend a summer, and arrived intending to photograph what remained of the Alaskan Wilderness.  I resolved to tell the truth about what I saw.

Selawik River At Upinigvik, Late May, 1991

Selawik River At Upinigvik, Late May, 1990

When I moved to Fairbanks in late 1991, I continued to photograph as honestly as possible.  The picture below is a photograph I made several days after arriving in Fairbanks.

Peger Road, Fairbanks, November 1991

Peger Road, Fairbanks, November 1991

I feel very lucky to have arrived in a place and time when it is possible to find a subject worth spending a lifetime exploring.  A place where it it is still possible to make an honest beautiful picture, and honest pictures that ache with bone numbing cold and darkness.

Leave a Reply

